The research focus of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research is our cosmic neighborhood: the solar system with its planets and moons, comets and asteroids as well as the sun. The aim of the scientists is to describe the processes in the solar system in models and to simulate them on the computer. In addition, instruments are being developed and built to study these bodies from space. The Institute is involved in numerous space missions. More info.

Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research

The research focus of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research is our cosmic neighborhood: the solar system with its planets and moons, comets and asteroids as well as the sun. The aim of the scientists is to describe the processes in the solar system in models and to simulate them on the computer. In addition, instruments are being developed and built to study these bodies from space. The Institute is involved in numerous space missions. More info.


The Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research takes the current risk situation due to the coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 very seriously. It is the Institute's primary objective to minimize the risk of infection for its staff and to contribute in general to minimizing the spread of the virus. Read more about current measures and restrictions here.

The MPS in times of corona: Current status

The Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research takes the current risk situation due to the coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 very seriously. It is the Institute's primary objective to minimize the risk of infection for its staff and to contribute in general to minimizing the spread of the virus.
Read more about current measures and restrictions here.

The sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), which scientists and engineers at MPS developed and built for ESA's JUICE (Jupiter Icy Moon Explorer) mission to Jupiter, has reached a further milestone on its way into space. Together with other sensors of the PEP (Particle Environment Package) instrument package, JEI has now arrived safely at Airbus Defence and Space GmbH in Friedrichshafen. In the next few weeks, it will be connected to the space probe.

JUICE's sensor JEI soon to be integrated into spacecraft

The sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), which scientists and engineers at MPS developed and built for ESA's JUICE (Jupiter Icy Moon Explorer) mission to Jupiter, has reached a further milestone on its way into space. Together with other sensors of the PEP (Particle Environment Package) instrument package, JEI has now arrived safely at Airbus Defence and Space GmbH in Friedrichshafen. In the next few weeks, it will be connected to the space probe.

The International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen has reached a milestone: With Eliana Amazo Gómez, the 200th doctoral student of the IMPRS has now defended her doctoral thesis and thus successfully completed her PhD. In her thesis, the 33-year-old Colombian scientist developed a new method of deducing the rotational period of stars from their brightness fluctuations. In this way, she was able to determine how fast hundreds of stars rotate for the first time.

Tackling Brightness Variations of Stubborn Stars

The International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen has reached a milestone: With Eliana Amazo Gómez, the 200th doctoral student of the IMPRS has now defended her doctoral thesis and thus successfully completed her PhD. In her thesis, the 33-year-old Colombian scientist developed a new method of deducing the rotational period of stars from their brightness fluctuations. In this way, she was able to determine how fast hundreds of stars rotate for the first time.

Dwarf planet Ceres’ Occator Crater is one of the most impressive geological structures in our solar system. New calculations by scientists at MPS and the University of Münster in Germany now offer the highest resolution three-dimensional reconstruction of the central depression of the Occator crater to date. With rugged slopes, circular furrows and a brilliant white central dome, the animated overflight over the inner crater area shows the whole range of geological features of this formation.

A Bird's Eye View of Occator Crater

Dwarf planet Ceres’ Occator Crater is one of the most impressive geological structures in our solar system. New calculations by scientists at MPS and the University of Münster in Germany now offer the highest resolution three-dimensional reconstruction of the central depression of the Occator crater to date. With rugged slopes, circular furrows and a brilliant white central dome, the animated overflight over the inner crater area shows the whole range of geological features of this formation.

Research Departments


Sun and Heliosphere

The focus of this department is the solar interior, the solar atmosphere, the solar magnetic field, the heliosphere, and the interplanetary medium, as well as solar radiation and solar energetic particles. The balloon-mission Sunrise, a balloon-borne solar observatory, is managed by this department. The mission investigates our central star from a height of about 35 km. In addition to several other participations in space missions, the department significantly contributes to the ESA's Solar Orbiter.

Planets and Comets

This department investigates the interior, the surfaces, atmospheres, ionospheres, and magnetospheres of planets and their moons, as well as comets and asteroids. The department currently contributes or has contributed to important space missions such as the ESA's missions JUICE to the Jovian system, BepiColombo to Mercury and Rosetta to comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko as well as NASA's missions InSight to Mars and Dawn to the asteroid belt.

Solar and Stellar Interiors

Helioseismology and asteroseismology are tools that use the oscillations of the Sun and stars to probe their interior structure and dynamics. This allows us to test and refine the theory of stellar structure and evolution, thereby bringing us closer to understanding solar and stellar magnetism. The department hosts the German Data Center for NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory, and is preparing to host the data center of ESA's exoplanet hunting mission, PLATO.

At a Glance


International Office

On the pages of the International Office, new employees and guests will find information for their stay in Göttingen and at the institute.

IMPRS

PhD programme: International Max Planck Research School for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen.

Staff at the MPS

Staff directory

Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Canteen at the MPS
Mon - Fri 9 - 13
This week's menu

News


Seminars

S3 Seminar: Numerical studies on Rossby waves in the Sun (Yuto Bekki)

Dec 2, 2020 14:30 - 15:00
BigBlueButton, Room: "BigBlueButton"

S3 Seminar: Learned infinite elements (Janosch Preuß)

Dec 9, 2020 14:30 - 15:00
BigBlueButton, Room: "BigBlueButton"

S3 Seminar: Helioseismically constrained dynamo models of the Sun (Simon Cloutier)

Dec 9, 2020 15:00 - 15:30
BigBlueButton, Room: "BigBlueButton"

S3 Seminar: Modelling the evolution of solar ephemeral regions (Bernhard Hofer)

Dec 16, 2020 14:00 - 14:30
BigBlueButton, Room: "BigBlueButton"

News

JUICE's sensor JEI soon to be integrated into spacecraft

November 25, 2020

The sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), which scientists and engineers at the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS) developed and built for ESA's JUICE (Jupiter Icy Moon Explorer) mission to Jupiter, has reached a further ...

Tackling Brightness Variations of Stubborn Stars

November 06, 2020

The International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen has reached a milestone: With Eliana Amazo Gómez, the 200th doctoral student of the IMPRS has now defended her doctoral thesis and thus ...

A Bird's Eye View of Occator Crater

November 03, 2020

Dwarf planet Ceres’ Occator Crater is one of the most impressive geological structures in our solar system. New calculations by scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS) and the University of Münster in Germany now offer ...

BepiColombo flys by Venus

October 14, 2020

On its way to Mercury, the planet closest to the Sun, the European-Japanese space probe BepiColombo will change course again on Thursday, 15 October. Following the Earth flyby in April this year, the first of two Venus flybys is now imminent. It will ...

Go to Editor View

Forschungsgegenstand des Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung ist unsere kosmische Heimat: das Sonnensystem mit seinen Planeten und Monden, Kometen und Asteroiden sowie der Sonne. Ziel der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ist es, die Vorgänge im Sonnensystem in Modellen zu beschreiben und am Computer zu simulieren. Zudem werden Instrumente entwickelt und gebaut, die diese Körper aus dem Weltall untersuchen. Das Institut ist an zahlreichen Weltraummissionen beteiligt. Mehr Infos.

Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung

Forschungsgegenstand des Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung ist unsere kosmische Heimat: das Sonnensystem mit seinen Planeten und Monden, Kometen und Asteroiden sowie der Sonne. Ziel der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ist es, die Vorgänge im Sonnensystem in Modellen zu beschreiben und am Computer zu simulieren. Zudem werden Instrumente entwickelt und gebaut, die diese Körper aus dem Weltall untersuchen. Das Institut ist an zahlreichen Weltraummissionen beteiligt. Mehr Infos.

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung nimmt die aktuelle Risikolage auf Grund des Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 sehr ernst. Weiterhin ist es das oberste Ziel des Instituts, sowohl das Ansteckungsrisiko für seine Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter zu minimieren, als auch generell dazu beizutragen, dass sich das Virus möglichst wenig verbreitet. Lesen Sie hier mehr über aktuelle Maßnahmen und Einschränkungen.

Das MPS in Zeiten von Corona: Aktueller Stand

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung nimmt die aktuelle Risikolage auf Grund des Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 sehr ernst. Weiterhin ist es das oberste Ziel des Instituts, sowohl das Ansteckungsrisiko für seine Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter zu minimieren, als auch generell dazu beizutragen, dass sich das Virus möglichst wenig verbreitet.
Lesen Sie hier mehr über aktuelle Maßnahmen und Einschränkungen.

Der Sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), den Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure am MPS für die ESA-Mission JUICE zum Jupiter entwickelt und gebaut haben, hat einen weiteren Streckenabschnitt auf dem Weg ins All genommen. Zusammen mit weiteren Sensoren des Instrumentenpakets PEP (Particle Environment Package) ist JEI nun wohlbehalten bei der Airbus Defence and Space GmbH in Friedrichshafen eingetroffen. In den nächsten Wochen wird er mit der Raumsonde verbunden.

JUICE-Sensor JEI: Einbau in Raumsonde steht bevor

Der Sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), den Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure am MPS für die ESA-Mission JUICE zum Jupiter entwickelt und gebaut haben, hat einen weiteren Streckenabschnitt auf dem Weg ins All genommen. Zusammen mit weiteren Sensoren des Instrumentenpakets PEP (Particle Environment Package) ist JEI nun wohlbehalten bei der Airbus Defence and Space GmbH in Friedrichshafen eingetroffen. In den nächsten Wochen wird er mit der Raumsonde verbunden.

Die International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen erreicht einen Meilenstein: Mit Eliana Amazo Gómez hat jetzt die 200. Doktorandin der IMPRS ihre Doktorarbeit verteidigt und damit ihre Promotion erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Die 33-jährige Kolumbianerin hat eine neue Methode entwickelt, aus den Helligkeitsschwankungen von Sternen auf ihre Rotationsperiode zu schließen. Auf diese Weise konnte sie die Rotationsgeschwindigkeit hunderter Sterne erstmals bestimmen.

Helligkeitsschwankungen hartnäckiger Sterne

Die International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen erreicht einen Meilenstein: Mit Eliana Amazo Gómez hat jetzt die 200. Doktorandin der IMPRS ihre Doktorarbeit verteidigt und damit ihre Promotion erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Die 33-jährige Kolumbianerin hat eine neue Methode entwickelt, aus den Helligkeitsschwankungen von Sternen auf ihre Rotationsperiode zu schließen. Auf diese Weise konnte sie die Rotationsgeschwindigkeit hunderter Sterne erstmals bestimmen.

Das MPS trauert um Thomas Oppermann, Vizepräsident des Deutschen Bundestages und langjähriges Mitglied des Kuratoriums, der am Sonntag, 25. Oktober, überraschend verstorben ist. Thomas Oppermann war ein überzeugter Unterstützer der Max-Planck-Institute sowie der Wissenschaft in Göttingen, Niedersachen und Deutschland. Mit ihm verliert das MPS einen Freund und verlässlichen Berater. Wir werden ihn sehr vermissen.

Trauer um
Thomas Oppermann

Das MPS trauert um Thomas Oppermann, Vizepräsident des Deutschen Bundestages und langjähriges Mitglied des Kuratoriums, der am Sonntag, 25. Oktober, überraschend verstorben ist.
Thomas Oppermann war ein überzeugter Unterstützer der Max-Planck-Institute sowie der Wissenschaft in Göttingen, Niedersachen und Deutschland. Mit ihm verliert das MPS einen Freund und verlässlichen Berater.
Wir werden ihn sehr vermissen.


Forschungsabteilungen


Sonne und Heliosphäre

Forschungsinhalte der Abteilung sind das Sonneninnere, die Sonnenatmosphäre, das solare Magnetfeld, die Heliosphäre und das interplanetare Medium sowie Strahlung und energiereiche Teilchen von der Sonne. Die Abteilung leitet die Ballonmission Sunrise, ein ballongetragenes Observatorium, das die Sonne aus einer Flughöhe von etwa 35 km untersucht. Neben zahlreichen weiteren Beteiligungen an Weltraummissionen trägt die Abteilung maßgeblich zur ESA-Mission Solar Orbiter bei.

Planeten und Kometen

Die Abteilung untersucht das Innere, die Oberflächen, Atmosphären, Ionosphären und Magnetosphären der Planeten, deren Ringe und Monde, sowie Kometen und Asteroiden. Zu den wichtigsten Weltraummissionen, zu denen die Abteilung aktuell beiträgt oder beigetragen hat, zählen die ESA-Missionen JUICE ins Jupitersystem, BepiColombo zum Merkur und Rosetta zum Kometen Churyumov-Gerasimenko sowie die NASA-Missionen InSight zum Mars und Dawn zum Asteroidengürtel.

Innere der Sonne und der Sterne

Helioseismologie und Asteroseismologie sind Methoden, die die Schwingungen der Sonne und Sterne nutzen, um ihre innere Struktur und Dynamik zu erforschen. Damit können wir die Theorie der Sternenstruktur und -evolution überprüfen und weiterentwickeln, und dadurch einem Verständnis des solaren und stellaren Magnetismus näherkommen. Die Abteilung beherbergt das Deutsche Datenzentrum der NASA-Mission Solar Dynamics Observatory, und bereitet die Einrichtung des Datenzentrums für ESA’s Exoplaneten-Mission PLATO vor.

Auf einen Blick


International Office

Auf den Seiten des International Office finden neue Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sowie Gäste Informationen für den Aufenthalt in Göttingen und am Institut.

IMPRS

Graduiertenschule: International Max Planck Research School for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen.

Mitarbeiter am MPS

Verzeichnis aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Aktuelles


Seminare

S3 Seminar: Numerical studies on Rossby waves in the Sun (Yuto Bekki)

02.12.2020 14:30 - 15:00
BigBlueButton, Raum: "BigBlueButton"

S3 Seminar: Learned infinite elements (Janosch Preuß)

09.12.2020 14:30 - 15:00
BigBlueButton, Raum: "BigBlueButton"

S3 Seminar: Helioseismically constrained dynamo models of the Sun (Simon Cloutier)

09.12.2020 15:00 - 15:30
BigBlueButton, Raum: "BigBlueButton"

Nachrichten

JUICE-Sensor JEI: Einbau in Raumsonde steht bevor

25. November 2020

Der Sensor JEI (Jovian Electron and Ion Sensor), den Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure am Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) für die ESA-Mission JUICE (Jupiter Icy Moon Explorer) zum Jupiter entwickelt und gebaut haben, hat einen ...

Helligkeitsschwankungen hartnäckiger Sterne

6. November 2020

Die International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Solar System Science at the University of Göttingen erreicht einen Meilenstein: Mit Eliana Amazo Gómez hat jetzt die 200. Doktorandin der IMPRS ihre Doktorarbeit verteidigt und damit ihre ...

Occator-Krater aus der Vogelperspektive

3. November 2020

Der Occator-Krater auf dem Zwergplaneten Ceres, den die NASA-Raumsonde Dawn von 2015 bis 2018 aus einer Umlaufbahn erforschte, zählt zu den eindrucksvollsten geologischen Strukturen unseres Sonnensystems. Neue Rechnungen von Wissenschaftlern des ...

Trauer um Thomas Oppermann

28. Oktober 2020

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) trauert um Thomas Oppermann, Vizepräsident des Deutschen Bundestages und langjähriges Mitglied des MPS-Kuratoriums, der am Sonntag, 25. Oktober, überraschend verstorben ist.

Zur Redakteursansicht