Organization of the Institute

Organization of the Institute

Managing Director

Prof. Dr. Laurent Gizon


Prof. Dr. Sami K. Solanki
Prof. Dr. Laurent Gizon

Retired Directors

Prof. Dr. Ulrich R. Christensen
Prof. Dr. Vytenis M. Vasyliunas

For former directors check the page about the history of the institute

External scientific members

Prof. Dr. Albert A. Galeev
Russian Academy of Science, Space Research Institute

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier
Technische Universität zu Braunschweig, Institut für Geophysik und Extraterrestrische Physik

Prof. Dr. K. R. Sreenivasan
New York University, Tandon School of Engineering

Max Planck Fellow

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hohage
University of Göttingen, Institute of Numerical and Applied Mathematics

Other functions

Assistant to the Board of Director: Dr. Johannes Stecker

Head of Administration: Andreas Poprawa

Equal Opportunity Officer: Tanja Eggers, Regina Aznar Cuadrado, Kaori Nagashima

Ombudsperson: Prof. Dr. Hardi Peter

Representative in the Section: Dr. Johannes Wicht

Organizational structure of the MPS

MPS ORG chart

Members of Staff

As of July 1, 2020, the institute had 297 members of staff, 114 of which were financed by external funding. The diagram shows the distribution of the different fields of activities of staff members.

Go to Editor View