Board of Trustees of the institute

Board of Trustees of the institute

Representatives of all social groups relevant for the institute sit on the Board of Trustees, notably representatives of political parties, commerce, science, and the media. The Board is responsible for the link to the public, especially to those interested in the research performed at the institute and to those who might potentially aid in this research. The Board communicates the concerns of the institute and advances the interaction with the social and political community. The Board members are appointed by the president of the Max Planck Society according to suggestions made by the heads of the institute.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Beisiegel   
President, University of Göttingen

Prof. Dr. Stefan Dreizler
Institute for Astrophysics, University of Göttingen

Rüdiger Eichel
Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony

Helge Engelhard
Federal Ministry for Economy and Technology

Dr. Gerd Gruppe
Former Member of the Executive Board of the
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Frauke Heiligenstadt
Member of the Parliament of Lower Saxony

Dr. Josef Lange
Former State Secretary

Prof. Dr. Oskar von der Lühe
Director, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik

Prof. Mark McCaughrean
Head, Research & Scientific Support Department

Dr. Michael Menking
Senior Vice President
Director of „Earth Observation, Navigation & Science“
Airbus Defence & Space

Dr. Fritz Merkle
Member of the Managing Board
Orbitale Hochtechnologie Bremen-System AG

Dr. Karl-Friedrich Nagel
Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Thomas Oppermann
Vicepresident of the German Bundestag

Dr. Ulf von Rauchhaupt
Senior Science Editor
Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung

Go to Editor View