6th Metis Workshop with Focus on Operations

6th Metis Workshop with Focus on Operations

21 - 23 November 2018, Göttingen


After successfully integration in the spacecraft, Metis is now undergoing spacecraft environmental tests. All activities are in line with the planned Solar Orbiter launch in February 2020 and with the start of its nominal mission at the end of 2021. Scientific planning of the mission is now becoming more detailed.

The 6th Metis Workshop will be devoted to a detailed introduction to Metis for all the potential users of the instrument and of Solar Orbiter, in order to define the scientific planning strategy and to propose science with Metis and other space and ground instrumentation.

All colleagues interested in participating to the scientific planning of Metis or to use Metis and Solar Orbiter data are invited to participate and submit an abstract on related topics. The deadline for registration and abstract submission for oral and poster session is October 26th.

New: Presentations and Posters

The oral and poster presentations given during the workshop can be found here.

Group Photo

Other pictures from the Social Dinner can be found       here.

Meeting Program

Abstract submission

At the meeting there will be space for a few contributed talks as well as for posters. Abstracts for contributed talks or poster presentations are welcome. Please, submit them as a single page A4 pdf document according to this template by sending them by e-mail to: metis@mps.mpg.de. Please, specify in the subject line your surname and whether it is for oral or poster.


Half day will focus on science and a poster session is foreseen.
The poster area has slots for up to A1 format posters in portrait orientation.

List of Participants

Vincenzo Andretta INAF/Osservatorio Astronomico di Capodimonte
Ester Antonucci INAF-OATo
Regina Aznar Cuadrado Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Stephan Barra Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Alessandro Bemporad INAF-OATo
Arkadiusz Berlicki Astronomical Institute Czech Republic
Vania Da Deppo CNR-IFN Padova
Ilaria Ermolli INAF Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma
Frantisek Farnik Astronomical Institute v.v.i., Ondrejov
Silvano Fineschi INAF - Astrophysical Observatory of Turin
Fabio Frassetto CNR-IFN Padova
Catia Grimani University of Urbino "Carlo Bo", INFN Florence
Petr Heinzel Astronomical Institute Ondrejov
Johann Hirzberger Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Sonja Jejcic Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana
Federico Landini INAF - Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri
Giampiero Naletto University of Padova
Gianalfredo Nicolini INAF - OATo
Giuseppe Nisticò Institut für Astrophysik, Göttingen University
David Orozco Suarez Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía
Paolo Pagano University of St Andrews
Maurizio Pancrazzi Università di Firenze
Susanna Parenti Istitut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, Fr
Giovanni Peres Specola Astronomica - DiFC - Università di Palermo
Hardi Peter Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Luca Poletto CNR-Institute for Photonics and Nanotechnologies
Marco Romoli Università di Firenze
Clementina Sasso INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Capodimonte
Udo Schühle Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Sami Solanki Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Daniele Spadaro INAF-Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania
Marco Stangalini INAF-OAR National Istitute for Astrophysics
Thomas Straus INAF - OAC, Napoli
Roberto Susino INAF - Astrophysical Observatory of Turin
Luca Teriaca Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Michela Uslenghi IASF-MI/INAF
Rita Ventura INAF - Catania Astrophysical Observatory
Thomas Wiegelmann Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
David Williams ESA
Joachim Woch Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung
Jianchao Xue Purple Mountain Observatory
Beili Ying Purple Mountain Observatory
Andrei Zhukov Royal Observatory of Belgium
Francesca Zuccarello University of Catania

Last Edited - 06 February 2019

Go to Editor View