News

News

In Germany, a new stamp pays tribute to the European comet mission Rosetta. more

One comet, 70000 images

April 17, 2019
The OSIRIS Image Viewer makes all images of Rosetta’s comet 67P taken by the scientific camera system OSIRIS easily accessible on the internet. more
All images taken by the scientific camera system OSIRIS during Rosetta’s twelve-year mission to comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko are now publicly available.

more
The irregular shape of the Rosetta comet determines the distribution of gas and dust in its atmosphere.

more
For the first time, researchers from the COSIMA team present a quantitative analysis of which chemical elements make up comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

more
Rosetta reveals <br />dust jet

Rosetta reveals
dust jet

October 26, 2017
When comet 67P emitted a jet of dust into space in July 2016, five instruments from the Rosetta spacecraft were able to record the event. The scientific evaluation is now available.

more
Scientists analysing the final telemetry sent by Rosetta immediately before it shut down on the surface of the comet last year have reconstructed one last image of its touchdown site.

more

Philae found

September 08, 2016
The search for the Rosetta lander Philae on the surface of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko was successful. more
Rosetta’s OSIRIS camera team has launched a new website to showcase their recent images of Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko.

more

Colors of a Comet

November 12, 2015
To the naked eye comet 67P, destination and by now longtime companion of ESA’s Rosetta spacecraft, is rather unremarkably colored: black as a piece of coal all over. However, with the help of OSIRIS, scientists can make visible subtle, yet comprehensive differences in surface reflectivity. The newest analysis, presented today at the annual meeting of the DPS of the AAS in National Harbor (Maryland), thus paints a much more diverse picture of 67P. more
For the first time since its arrival at comet 67P, OSIRIS has observed a dust jet emitted from the comet in a fashion that allows to create a three dimensional anaglyph of the feature. The jet occurred a day before perihelion in phase of high cometary activity.   more
The origin of the comet’s double-lobed form has been a key question since Rosetta first revealed its surprising shape. Now, scientists have an unambiguous answer. By using high-resolution images to study the layers of material seen all over the nucleus, they have shown that the shape arose from a low-speed collision between two fully fledged, separately formed comets. more
Turning point in the Rosetta mission: Tonight at 4.03 am (CEST) 67P reached the point in its orbit closest to the Sun. Shots taken by OSIRIS, the scientific imaging system onboard Rosetta, on 12 and 13 August (CEST) already show a firework of dust jets emitted from the comet – and a spectacular outburst.  more
In the approach to perihelion over the past few weeks, Rosetta has been witnessing growing activity from Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko, with one dramatic outburst event on 29 July proving so powerful that it even pushed away the incoming solar wind. The outburst was registered by several of Rosetta’s instruments from their vantage point 186 kilometres from the comet. more
The surface dust of Rosetta’s comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko contains a wide variety of organic molecules. Researchers led by the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Göttingen have been able to detect a total of 16 compounds in measurement data from the COSAC instrument which were recorded shortly after the Philae lander first touched down on the surface of the comet on 12 November 2014. more
On Sunday, 12 July 2015, OSIRIS, the scientific imaging system on board ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta, took a glance towards the rim of our Solar System. Instead of studying comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko as in the past 15 months, the instrument took a peek at Pluto. NASA’s space probe New Horizons passes by the distant dwarf planet today. more
Cavities measuring up to a few hundred meters in diameter can be found under the surface of Rosetta’s comet. They can be instable and collapse in a kind of sinkhole process. This is the result of a new study led by researchers from the MPS in Germany, which analyses images of the comet’s surface. The images show peculiar, pit-like recesses. more
Philae, Rosetta' solar-powered lander has woken up from its nearly seven months of hibernation. On Saturday, June 13, 2015 at 22.28 CET, Philae phoned home, sending initial data to Earth. More than 300 data packets are being evaluated. They mainly contain information about Philae's "health" and have shown that the comet probe has an operating temperature of -35 degrees Celsius and 24 watts of energy available. more

The quest to find Philae

June 11, 2015
Rosetta and Philae teams continue to search for the current location of the lander, piecing together clues from its unexpected flight over the surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko after its initial landing on 12 November.

more
When night falls on Rosetta’s comet, the bizarrely shaped body remains active. This can be seen in new images of the Ma’at region located on the comet’s “head” captured by OSIRIS. They were taken approximately half an hour after the Sun had set over the region and show clearly distinguishable jets of dust escaping into space. more
OSIRIS discovers balancing rock on 67P
Scientists from Rosetta’s OSIRIS team have discovered an extraordinary formation on the larger lobe of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko in the Aker region. From a group of three boulders the largest one stands out: images obtained on 16 September 2014 show it to perch on the rim of a small depression.

more
OSIRIS catches the wake-up of a dust jet
Sometimes it is all a matter of being in the right place at the right time. Or, as in the case of ESA’s space probe Rosetta, of opening your eyes at the exactly right moment. In mid-March, Rosetta’s onboard imaging system OSIRIS was able to catch the elusive moment, when a new dust jet from comet 67P awakes to life.

more
OSIRIS detects hints of ice in the comet&rsquo;s neck
The Hapi region on the neck of Rosetta’s comet reflects red light less effectively than most other regions on the comet. It thus appears slightly blueish. This might point to the presence of frozen water mixed intimately with the dust at the surface.

more
OSIRIS catches glimpse of Rosetta&rsquo;s shadow
Several days after Rosetta’s close flyby of comet 67P on 14 February 2015, images taken on this day by OSIRIS have now been downlinked to Earth. With a resolution of 11 centimeters per pixel, these data from OSIRIS’ Narrow Angle Camera reveal highly detailed structures on the comet’s surface. In addition, Rosetta’s shadow on the surface can be seen surrounded by a bright halo-like region.

more
Rosetta: Comet&rsquo;s South Heats Up
The northern and southern hemisphere of Rosetta’s comet 67P experience sun-driven erosion to a very different extent. This is the result of a recent analysis performed by Rosetta’s OSIRIS team. Based on data acquired by the scientific imaging system OSIRIS, the scientists used a thermal model to estimate how much material both hemispheres lose during one orbit.
Rosetta's profile of a comet

Rosetta's profile of a comet

January 28, 2015
A surface covered by a thermally insulating layer. A low density comparable with that of cork, and jets of dust and gas which are ejected into space to their own beat: Data recorded by ESA’S Rosetta space probe are drawing a more and more accurate picture of comet 67P. A special issue of the magazine Science provides an overview of the current state of knowledge. more
Rosetta watches comet shed its dusty coat
ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta is currently providing unique insight into the life cycle of a comet’s dusty surface. During the previous months COSIMA could monitor how comet 67P sheds its dusty coat layer by layer. To this end, the instrument collects dust particles from the comet’s environment, images them and analyses their composition. Scientists of the COSIMA-Team report about their first results in the current issue of the journal Nature. more
The fine structure of activity jets of 67P
Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko has shown activity in the form of dust jets for a few months now. Recent OSIRIS images reveal that large scale jets as seen in previous images can now be resolved into many smaller jets emerging from the surface and then unite further away from the comet nucleus. more
Rosetta's Comet: Shades of Grey
Like many small bodies in space such as most asteroids, Rosetta’s comet 67P appears grey. This can be seen in images obtained by Rosetta’s scientific imaging system OSIRIS after careful processing. To create an image revealing 67P’s “true” colours, the scientists superposed images taken with the camera’s red, green and blue filters. more
Rosetta: Where does the water on Earth come from?
New measurement data from the ESA-mission Rosetta raises doubts on the theory that comets once provided the Earth with water. An international research team led by the University of Bern investigated the water vapour from the environment of Rosetta’s comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenk with the help of the mass spectrometer ROSINA. The composition is not similar to earthly water. more
Philae's drifting journey across the comet
OSIRIS camera on board of the Rosetta spacecraft images the journey of the lander above the nucleus of 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko. After the Philae lander was separated from Rosetta on 12 November, it remained in view of its mother space probe. more
Philae has landed

Philae has landed

November 12, 2014
November 12, 2014 goes down in history. On this Wednesday, an unmanned probe landed on a comet nucleus for the first time ever. The signal was received at 17.03 CET in the control center. Philae is to remain on the comet’s surface as a permanent research station to collect data and take measurements for at least 60 hours.

more
The dark side of the comet

The dark side of the comet

November 06, 2014
OSIRIS has caught a glimpse of the southern side of comet 67P. During the past months, this side has continuously faced away from the Sun making it impossible to determine shape and surface structures. Only the light scattered from dust particles in the comet’s coma very slightly illuminates this uncharted territory.

more
Jets of Activity

Jets of Activity

October 23, 2014
Rosetta’s comet is beginning to show a clearly visible increase in activity. While in the past months most of the dust emitted from the body’s surface seemed to originate from the neck region which connects the two lobes, images obtained by Rosetta’s scientific imaging system OSIRIS now show jets of dust along almost the whole extent of the comet.  more
Close-up of boulder Cheops

Close-up of boulder Cheops

October 09, 2014
The scientific imaging system OSIRIS on board ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta has caught a glimpse of one of the many boulders that cover the surface of comet 67P. With a maximum extension of approximately 45 meters it is one of the larger structures of this kind. It has been named Cheops after the largest pyramid within the Giza Necropolis. more
Descent onto "head" of a comet

Descent onto "head" of a comet

September 16, 2014
The intended touchdown site of the Philae lander to be deployed by ESA’s Rosetta space probe is almost in the centre of the “head” of the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. According to the Lander Team this region offers the best conditions for a safe landing followed by successful measurements when compared with other regions. more
A Map of Rosetta's Comet

A Map of Rosetta's Comet

September 08, 2014
High-resolution images of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko reveal a unique, multifaceted world. Scientists have now analyzed images of the comet's surface taken by OSIRIS, Rosetta's scientific imaging system, and allocated several distinct regions, each of which is  defined by special morphological characteristics.

more
Looking for a landing site

Looking for a landing site

August 25, 2014
Technically feasible to fly to, as level as possible, not too much shade, not too much sun − and scientifically interesting: these are the conditions which an area on the surface of comet 67P must fulfil in order to be selected as the landing site for Philae. In an initial selection, researchers and engineers have now nominated five possible candidates. more
Finally there! Rosetta arrives at 67P
ESA's space probe Rosetta has reached the destination of its more than ten year long journey through space. At 11.30 AM (CEST) ESA's control station picked up the long awaited signal: Rosetta has arrived at 67P. The most recent images taken by OSIRIS reveal a world of bizarre beauty.

more
Imaging the coma

Imaging the coma

July 31, 2014
Less than a week before Rosetta’s rendezvous with comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, images obtained by OSIRIS, the spacecraft’s onboard scientific imaging system, show clear signs of a coma surrounding the comet’s nucleus. more
Surface impressions of Rosetta's comet
In new images of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko surface structures are becoming visible. The resolution of these images is now 100 meters per pixel. One of the most striking features is currently found in the comet’s neck region. This part of 67P seems to be brighter than the rest of the nucleus.  

more
The twofold comet

The twofold comet

July 17, 2014
As ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta is slowly approaching its destination, comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko is again proving to be full of surprises. New images confirm the body’s peculiar shape that earlier pictures had hinted at.

more
Three faces of a comet

Three faces of a comet

July 10, 2014
The nucleus of comet 67P is an irregularly shaped body as seen from ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta. New images of the comet obtained by OSIRIS reveal a unique shape. The tiny world that is quickly growing bigger as Rosetta approaches its destination seems to display three prominent structures.

more
Rosetta's comet takes shape
Almost there! ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta eases closer and closer to comet 67P and has now reached a distance comparable to the small stretch of space that separates weather satellites in geo-stationary orbit from Earth. In new images the comet’s nucleus is beginning to cover several pixels. The resolved images now give scientists a first hunch of its shape.

more
Rosetta's comet returns to slumber
As ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta decelerates in preparation of its rendezvous with comet 67P in early August, the onboard scientific imaging system OSIRIS reveals a surprise: after the first evidence of activity at the end of April, the comet is currently at rest again.

more
Rosetta's comet is becoming active
The comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, target of ESA’s Rosetta mission, has begun to develop a dust coma. This can be seen in a series of images taken by OSIRIS, the spacecraft’s scientific imaging system, between March 27th and May 4th. more
A first glimpse of the comet
A little more than four months before the arrival of ESA’s spacecraft Rosetta at the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko researchers led by the MPS have successfully commissioned OSIRIS, the space probe’s scientific imaging system. On the first shots, however, the target comet covers only a fraction of a pixel.
Rosetta&rsquo;s comet wakes up
It’s back! After comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko had disappeared behind the Sun and out of the Earth’s view last year in October, the target comet of ESA’s Rosetta mission can now be seen again. In the most recent image obtained by researchers from the MPS and the European Southern Observatory (ESO) on February 28th, 2014, the comet presents itself brighter than expected for the nucleus alone.
Rosetta is awake

Rosetta is awake

January 20, 2014
ESA's spaceprobe Rosetta has awakend from its more than 30 months of hibernation. Today at 7.18 p.m. Rosetta's signal arrived at ESA's European Space Operations Center in Darmstadt (Germany) - after 42 long minutes of waiting.
VLT spies Rosetta's comet

VLT spies Rosetta's comet

January 20, 2014
ESA's Rosetta spacecraft is scheduled to wake up today after more than 30 months in deep space hibernation. Already, an image obtained on 5. October 2013 from a distance of approximately 500 million kilometers by MPS-researchers with the help of the European Southern Observatory's Very Large Telescope shows the mission's final destination: the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. The image is the most recent observation of the comet. more
Rosetta's final sprint to the comet
After a long, deep sleep the Rosetta space probe will be awoken on 20 January.The electronic wake-up call heralds the last stage of a journey through the solar system that has lasted more than 10 years. At its end is the unique encounter between the European space probe and the 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko comet in August of this year. more
Press release

Press release

August 20, 2013
Rosetta comet will wake up early
On its way towards the Sun comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko, next year's destination of ESA's spacecraft Rosetta, will start emitting gas and dust earlier than previously expected. The comet's activity should be measurable from Earth by March 2014.
Pressemitteilung

Press release

October 27, 2011
Primal rock in space
Lutetia is a real fossil: several areas of the asteroid's surface are around 3.6 billion years old and thus some of the oldest in the planetary system. These findings have been obtained by scientists headed by the MPS. The team has evaluated images which the Rosetta space probe recorded during its fly-by of Lutetia in July 2010. more
Pressemitteilung

Press release

June 08, 2011
Rosetta's first glimpse of the comet
Approximately 163 million kilometers still separate ESA's spacecraft Rosetta from comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko, its 2014 target. Despite this remarkable distance, scientists from the MPS have succeeded in obtaining the first images of the remote destination using the onboard camera system OSIRIS. more

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View

Rosetta: Aktuelles

Rosetta: Aktuelles

Eine aktuelle Briefmarke der Deutschen Post würdigt die europäische Kometenmission Rosetta. mehr
Der OSIRIS Image Viewer macht alle Bilder, die das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem OSIRIS vom Rosetta-Kometen 67P eingefangen hat, bequem im Internet zugänglich. mehr
Alle Aufnahmen, die das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem OSIRIS im Laufe der zwölfjährigen Kometenmission Rosetta gemacht hat, sind nun öffentlich zugänglich. mehr
Vor allem die unregelmäßige Form des Rosetta-Kometen bestimmt die Verteilung von Gas- und Staub in seiner Atmosphäre. mehr
Forscher des COSIMA-Teams legen erstmals eine quantitative Analyse vor, aus welchen chemischen Elementen der Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko besteht.

mehr
Rosetta enthüllt Staubwolke

Rosetta enthüllt Staubwolke

26. Oktober 2017
Als der Komet 67P im Juli 2016 eine Staubwolke ins All schickte, konnten fünf Instrumente der Rosetta-Sonde das Ereignis verfolgen. Jetzt liegt die wissenschaftliche Auswertung vor.  

mehr
Aus den letzten Telemetrie-Daten, die Rosetta im vergangenen Jahr kurz vor der Landung auf der Kometenoberfläche gesendet hat, konnten Forscher ein letztes Bild rekonstruieren.

mehr
Die Raumsonde Rosetta dokumentiert das Abbrechen eines Steilhangstücks. An der Bruchkante gelingt es erstmals, einen Blick unter die Kometenoberfläche zu werfen.

mehr

Philae gefunden

8. September 2016
Die Suche nach dem Lander Philae auf dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko war erfolgreich mehr

Der Staub des Kometen 67P enthält das nach unserem heutigen Kenntnisstand am wenigsten veränderte Material aus der Entstehungsphase unseres Sonnensystems.

mehr
Daten des wissenschaftlichen Kamerasystems OSIRIS deuten auf Schwefeldioxid auf der Oberfläche und Cyanwasserstoff in der Atmosphäre des Rosetta-Kometen.

mehr
Interview mit Hermann Böhnhardt, dem wissenschaftlichen Leiter der Rosetta-Landemission, zum Jahrestag der Kometenlandung mehr
Zum ersten Mal seit der Ankunft am Kometen 67P hat OSIRIS eine Staubfontäne so ablichten können, dass sich aus den Aufnahmen ein dreidimensionales Anaglyphenbild erstellen lässt. Die Staubfontäne trat am Tag vor dem Sonnenvorbeiflug des Kometen am 13. August dieses Jahres in einer Phase hoher Aktivität auf.  mehr
Seit die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta im Juli 2014 entdeckte, dass der Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko eine oft als entenförmig beschriebene Gestalt hat, stellt sich die Frage, wie es zu dieser merkwürdigen Form kommen konnte. Forscher des OSIRIS-Teams liefern nun eine eindeutige Antwort: Die Form des Rosetta-Kometen ergab sich durch den Zusammenprall zweier Kometen, die getrennt voneinander entstanden waren. mehr
Eine der markantesten Landschaften auf der Unterseite des Rosetta-Kometen existiert nicht mehr. Die zunehmende Sonneneinstrahlung hat die weite, glatte Ebene zwischen zwei Ansammlungen riesiger Brocken in der Region Imhotep völlig umgestaltet: Statt eines Steilhangs erstrecken sich dort nun zwei große beckenförmige Vertiefungen.

mehr
Ende Juli konnte die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta einen dramatischen Aktivitätsausbruch des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko mitverfolgen. Der Ausbruch erwies sich als so heftig, dass er sogar den ankommenden Sonnenwind beiseite drückte. Mehrere Instrumente an Bord von Rosetta, darunter das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem OSIRIS und das Massenspektrometer ROSINA, waren an den Messungen beteiligt. mehr
Der Oberflächenstaub des Rosetta-Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko enthält eine Vielzahl organischer Moleküle. Insgesamt 16 Verbindungen konnten Forscher unter Leitung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) in Göttingen in Messdaten des Instrumentes COSAC, die kurz nach dem ersten Aufsetzen der Landeeinheit Philae auf der Kometenoberfläche am 12. November 2014 entstanden, nachweisen. mehr
Einen Blick bis an den Rand des Sonnensystems hat OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta, am vergangenen Sonntag geworfen. Statt wie in den vergangenen 15 Monaten den Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko zu beobachten, hat das Instrument für kurze Zeit den fernen Zwergplaneten Pluto ins Visier genommen. mehr
Unter der Oberfläche des Rosetta-Kometen erstrecken sich bis zu einige hundert Meter große Hohlräume, die nach und nach einstürzen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommen MPS-Forscher, die Aufnahmen der Kometenoberfläche ausgewertet haben. Darin finden sich sonderbare, schachtartige Vertiefungen. mehr
Rosetta und Philae-Wissenschaftler spüren dem aktuellen Standort von Rosettas Landeeinheit nach. Hinweise liefern nicht nur Daten, die Philae während des Schwebeflugs und der wissenschaftlichen Messungen sammelte. Auch spätere Aufnahmen spielen eine Rolle. Darin lassen sich einige Philae-Kandidaten erkennen.

mehr
Wenn die Nacht anbricht auf dem Rosetta-Kometen, bleibt der bizarr geformte Körper weiterhin aktiv. Das belegen neue Aufnahmen der Ma’at Region auf dem „Kopf“ des Kometen, die OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem an Bord der Raumsonde Rosetta, am 25. April dieses Jahres eingefangen hat.

mehr
OSIRIS entdeckt Wackelstein auf 67P
Eine außergewöhnliche Formation haben Wissenschaftler des OSIRIS-Teams in der Region Aker entdeckt. In einer Gruppe von drei Brocken sticht der größte hervor: Aufnahmen vom 16. September vergangenen Jahres zeigen, dass er auf dem Rand einer Vertiefung geradezu balanciert.

mehr
OSIRIS beobachtet Aufwachen einer Staubfontäne
Manchmal hängt alles davon ab, zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort zu sein. Mitte März konnte OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem an Bord der Raumsonde, den flüchtigen Momentan einfangen, in dem am Kometen 67P eine neue Staubfontäne zum Leben erwacht. mehr
Hinweise auf Eis am Hals des Kometen
Die Region Hapi auf dem Hals des Rosetta-Kometen reflektiert rotes Licht weniger effektiv als die meisten anderen Regionen. Sie erscheint deshalb leicht bläulich. Dies deutet daraufhin, dass dort gefrorenes Wasser mit dem oberflächlichen Staub vermischt ist.

mehr
Rosettas Schatten auf dem Kometen
Die Aufnahmen, die OSIRIS am 14. Februar 2015 beim Kometenvorbeiflug aus nur sechs Kilometern Abstand eingefangen hat, sind jetzt auf der Erde eingetroffen. Mit einer Auflösung von 11 Zentimetern pro Pixel zeigen die Daten detaillierte Strukturen auf der Oberfläche. Zudem lässt sich auf der Oberfläche des Kometen der Schatten von Rosetta inmitten eines hellen Kranzes erkennen.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet: Auf der Südseite wird’s heiß
Nord- und Südseite des Rosetta-Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko werden sich in den nächsten Monaten sehr verschieden entwickeln. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommen Wissenschaftler des OSIRIS-Teams in einer aktuellen Analyse. Mit Hilfe eines thermischen Modells konnten sie abschätzen, wie viel Material im Laufe eines Sonnenumlaufs von beiden Halbkugeln abgetragen wird.
Wo ist Philae?

Wo ist Philae?

30. Januar 2015
Nicht einmal, sondern gleich viermal hat Philae am 12. November vergangenen Jahres die Oberfläche des Kometen 67P berührt. Der erste Sprung führte das kleine Raumschiff nicht nur weit weg von der ursprünglich anvisierten Landestelle, sondern auch aus dem Blickfeld des Kamerasystems OSIRIS. Seitdem wertet das Team Bilder der Landeregion aus, um Philae zu finden. Die zerklüftete Oberfläche und schwierige Belichtungsverhältnisse machen dies zu einer kniffligen Aufgabe. mehr
Rosetta-Komet verliert äußere Staubschicht
Die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta bietet derzeit einzigartige Einblicke in den Lebenszyklus der staubigen Oberfläche eines Kometen. In den vergangenen Monaten konnte COSIMA  mitverfolgen, wie der Komet 67P seinen staubigen, äußeren Mantel Schicht für Schicht abstreift. Dafür fängt das Instrument Staubteilchen aus der Umgebung des Kometen ein, bildet sie ab und analysiert ihre Zusammensetzung. Von ihren ersten Ergebnissen berichten die Forscher in der aktuellen Ausgabe der Fachzeitschrift Nature. mehr
Steckbrief eines Kometen

Steckbrief eines Kometen

22. Januar 2015

Eine wärmeisolierende Schicht an der Oberfläche; bizarre Landschaften; eine geringe Dichte vergleichbar mit der von Kork sowie Fontänen aus Staub und Gas, die einem eigenen Rhythmus folgend ins All strömen. Messdaten der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta zeichnen ein immer genaueres Bild des Kometen 67P. Einen Überblick über den aktuellen Kenntnisstand bietet eine Sonderausgabe des Fachmagazins Science.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet: Die Feinstruktur der Staubfontänen
Seit einigen Monaten bereits ist der Komet 67P aktiv und spuckt Fontänen aus Staub ins All. Neue Aufnahmen des Kamerasystems OSIRIS an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta decken nun die Feinstruktur der großskaligen Staubfontänen auf. In der Nähe der Oberfläche fächern die Fontänen in getrennte, kleinere Strahlen auf, die weiter entfernt vom Kometenkern verschmelzen.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet: Eine Welt in Grau
Wie auch viele andere kleine Körper im Weltall erscheint der Rosetta-Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko in einem farblosen Grau. Dies lässt sich Farbbildern entnehmen, die Forscher aus Aufnahmen des Kamerasystems OSIRIS erstellt haben.

mehr
Rosetta: Woher stammt das Wasser der Erde?
Neue Messdaten der ESA-Mission Rosetta wecken Zweifel an der Theorie, dass Kometen einst die Erde maßgeblich mit Wasser versorgten. Eine internationales Forschungsteam unter Leitung der Universität Bern hat mit Hilfe des Massenspektrometers ROSINA den Wasserdampf in der Umgebung des Rosetta-Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko untersucht. Die Zusammensetzung gleicht nicht der des irdischen Wassers. mehr
Philae im Schwebeflug

Philae im Schwebeflug

18. November 2014
Kamera OSIRIS an Bord der Raumsonde Rosetta verfolgt die Bahn des Landers über den Kern von 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Nachdem der Lander Philae am 12. November von Rosetta abgekoppelt hatte, blieb er im Blick seiner Muttersonde. Dabei gelang dem Kamerasystem OSIRIS eine atemberaubende Sequenz von Aufnahmen, die Philae beim Flug dicht über der Oberfläche des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko zeigen. mehr
Philae ist gelandet!

Philae ist gelandet!

12. November 2014
Der 12. November 2014 geht in die Geschichte ein. Denn an diesem Mittwoch ist zum ersten Mal eine unbemannte Sonde auf einem Kometenkern gelandet. Um 17.03 Uhr ging das entsprechende Signal im Kontrollzentrum ein. mehr
Philae im Landeflug

Philae im Landeflug

12. November 2014
Die ersten Schritte auf Philaes siebenstündigem Weg zur Oberfläche des Kometen 67P sind erfolgreich absolviert. Das zeigt eindrucksvoll ein Bild, welches OSIRIS heute um 11.24 Uhr aufgenommen hat. Zu sehen ist Rosettas Landeeinheit Philae etwa zwei Stunden nach dem Ablösevorgang. Deutlich erkennbar ist, dass sich das dreibeinige Landegestell von Philae erfolgreich entfaltet hat. mehr
Die dunkle Seite des Kometen

Die dunkle Seite des Kometen

6. November 2014
OSIRIS hat einen ersten Blick auf die Südseite des Kometen 67P geworfen. Seit Monaten ist diese Seite der Sonne abgewandt, so dass es nach wie vor unmöglich ist, dort Strukturen zu erkennen. Nur das Streulicht von Staubpartikeln in der Umgebung des Kometen lässt einige Oberflächenstrukturen erahnen.

mehr
Rosetta: Die Landung

Rosetta: Die Landung

31. Oktober 2014
Gegen 17 Uhr am Mittwoch, 12. November 2014, dürfte es ruhig werden in den Kontrollzentren der ESA und des DLR. Was verraten die Daten, welche die Landeeinheit der Rosetta-Mission zur Erde funkt? Ist Philae sicher auf der Oberfläche des Kometen 67P gelandet? Auch am MPS wird an diesem Tag mitgefiebert. Interessierte sind  eingeladen, die Landung am MPS mitzuerleben.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet spuckt Staubfontänen
Die Aktivität des Rosetta-Kometen beginnt deutlich zuzunehmen. Der Staub, den der Komet in den vergangenen Monaten ins All emittierte, stammte zu einem Großteil von der Halsregion, welche die beiden Teile des Kometen verbindet. Neue Bilder von 67P zeigen nun, dass Fontänen aus Staub auch an anderen Stellen an der Oberfläche auftreten. mehr
Nahaufnahme von Cheops

Nahaufnahme von Cheops

9. Oktober 2014
Dem Kamerasystem OSIRIS an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta ist eine beeindruckende Aufnahme eines der vielen Brocken auf der Oberfläche des Kometen 67P gelungen. Mit einer maximalen Ausdehnung von etwa 45 Metern ist er einer der größeren Strukturen dieser Art. Er wurde deshalb nach der Cheops-Pyramide benannt. mehr
Landung auf dem Kopf des Kometen
Beinahe mitten auf dem „Kopf“ des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko soll die Landeeinheit Philae der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta Mitte November aufsetzen. Nach Ansicht des Lander Teams bietet diese Region im Vergleich mit anderen die besten Voraussetzungen für eine sichere Landung und anschließende erfolgreiche Messungen. mehr
Eine Karte des Rosetta-Kometen

Eine Karte des Rosetta-Kometen

8. September 2014
Hochaufgelöste Bilder des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko zeigen eine einzigartige, ausgesprochen variationsreiche Welt.  Wissenschaftler haben nun Bilder der Kometenoberfläche ausgewertet, die mit Hilfe von OSIRIS aufgenommen wurden und darin verschiedene Regionen bestimmt. Diese sind unterscheiden sich jeweils in ihren morphologischen Eigenschaften. mehr
Landen, wo Komet 67P aktiv ist
Fünf Gebiete auf der Oberfläche des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko kommen als Landestellen für Philae, die Landeeinheit von Rosetta, in Frage. Zu diesem Schluss kommt das Lander-Team mit Unterstützung von Kollegen aus dem Rosetta Science Team und von der ESA. Drei der potentiellen Landestellen liegen auf dem „Kopf“, die anderen beiden auf dem größeren „Körper“ des Kometen. mehr
Angekommen! Rosetta erreicht 67P
Die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta hat das Ziel ihrer mehr als zehnjährigen Reise erreicht. Um 11.30 Uhr ging bei der Kontrollstation der ESA in Darmstadt das Signal ein: Rosetta ist am Kometen 67P angekommen. Die aktuellsten Bilder, die mit Hilfe des Kamerasystems OSIRIS aufgenommen wurden, zeigen eine Welt von bizarrer Schönheit.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet: Anzeichen von Aktivität
Weniger als eine Woche trennt die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta noch von ihrem Ziel, dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Bilder des Kometen, die mit Hilfe von Rosettas wissenschaftlichem Kamerasystem OSIRIS aufgenommen wurden, zeigen deutliche Anzeichen einer Koma. mehr
Rosetta-Komet: Ein Blick auf die Oberfläche
Oberflächenstrukturen werden nun sichtbar in neuen Aufnahmen des Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.Die Auflösung der Bilder beträgt 100 Meter pro Pixel. Eines der auffälligsten Merkmale in diesen Aufnahmen findet sich im Halsbereich des Kometen. Dieser Teil erscheint heller als der Rest.

mehr
Der zweigeteilte Komet

Der zweigeteilte Komet

17. Juli 2014
Während sich die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta langsam ihrem Ziel nähert, beweist der Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko erneut, dass er voller Überraschungen steckt. Neue Aufnahmen bestätigen die eigenartige Gestalt des Körpers, die frühere Bilder angedeutet hatten.

mehr
Drei Gesichter eines Kometen
Der Kern des Kometen 67P ist ein unregelmäßig geformter Körper. Neue Bilder des Kometen deuten auf eine einzigartige Gestalt. Die winzige Welt, die in den OSIRIS-Aufnahmen immer größer wird, scheint drei ausgeprägte Strukturen aufzuweisen.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet nimmt Gestalt an
Fast angekommen! Der Abstand zwischen der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta und 67P entspricht nun der Entfernung, in der geostationäre Wettersatelliten um die Erde kreisen. Auf neuen Bildern beginnt der Kern des Kometen, nun mehrere Pixel zu überdecken. Die Bilder erlauben einen ersten Eindruck von der Gestalt des Körpers.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet verliert Wasserdampf
Vom Kometen 67P verdampft bereits Wasser. Erste Messungen des Instrumentes MIRO konnten das Gas nicht nur identifizieren, sondern auch die Menge bestimmen. Obwohl sich 67P noch in den eisigen Tiefen des Weltalls befindet, entspricht die Wassermenge bereits zwei kleinen Gläsern pro Sekunde. Am MPS wurde das Chirp Transform Spektrometer von MIRO entwickelt.

mehr
Rosetta-Komet schläft wieder ein
Während die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta derzeit ihre Geschwindigkeit anpasst, um sich auf ihre Ankunft am Kometen 67P Anfang August vorzubereiten, liefert OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem an Bord, eine Überraschung: Nachdem es Ende April erste Anzeichen für Aktivität gab, befindet sich der Komet nun wieder in einem Ruhezustand. mehr
Rosetta-Komet wird aktiv
Der Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, Ziel der ESA-Mission Rosetta, hat begonnen eine Staubkoma auszubilden. Das zeigt eine Abfolge von Bildern, die OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem der Raumsonde, zwischen dem 27. März und dem 4. Mai dieses Jahres aufgenommen hat. In den Bildern, die von Ende April stammen, ist der Staub, den der Komet ins all spuckt, bereits als entstehende Koma klar erkennbar. mehr
Rosetta: Das Ziel vor Augen
Gut vier Monate vor Ankunft der ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta am Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko haben Forscher unter Leitung des MPS OSIRIS, das wissenschaftliche Kamerasystem der Sonde, erfolgreich in Betrieb genommen. Auf den ersten Aufnahmen ist der Zielkomet jedoch nur den Bruchteil eines Pixels groß.
Rosetta-Komet wacht auf

Rosetta-Komet wacht auf

10. März 2014
Da ist er wieder: Nach dem 67P/Churjumov-Gerasimenko im Oktober vergangenen Jahres von der Erde aus gesehen hinter der Sonne verschwand, ist der Zielkomet der ESA-Mission Rosetta nun wieder zu sehen. In der jüngsten Aufnahme, die Forschern des MPS und der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) am 28. Februar 2014 mit Hilfe des Very Large Telescope gelang, zeigt sich der Komet heller als ein inaktiver Kern allein erwarten ließe.
Rosetta ist aufgewacht

Rosetta ist aufgewacht

20. Januar 2014
Die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta ist aus ihrem mehr als 30-monatigem Winterschlaf aufgewacht. Um 19.18 Uhr ging das erlösende Signal beim Kontrollzentrum der ESA in Darmstadt ein - nach 42 Minuten des Wartens.
Rosetta-Komet gesichtet

Rosetta-Komet gesichtet

20. Januar 2014
Die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta soll heute aus ihrem Winterschlaf erwachen. Schon jetzt zeigt eine Aufnahme, die MPS-Forschern am 5. Oktober 2013 mit Hilfe des Very Large Telescope der Europäischen Südsternwarte gelang, das Ziel der Mission: den Kometen Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Es handelt sich um das derzeit aktuellste Bild des Kometen.

mehr
Weckruf im All: Rosettas Endspurt zum Kometen

Weckruf im All: Rosettas Endspurt zum Kometen

Am Montag, 20. Januar 2014, wird die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta aus ihrem „Winterschlaf“ geweckt. Der elektronische Weckruf läutet die letzte Etappe einer mehr als zehnjährigen Reise durchs Sonnensystem ein. An deren Ende steht im August dieses Jahres die Begegnung der europäischen Raumsonde mit dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Im November soll die Landeeinheit Philae auf seiner Oberfläche aufsetzen.
Pressemitteilung

Pressemitteilung

20. August 2013
Frühstart für Rosetta-Kometen
Auf seinem Weg in Richtung Sonne wird der Komet Churyumov-Gerasimenko, den die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta im nächsten Jahr erreicht, früher als bisher gedacht beginnen, Gas und Staub zu spucken. Bereits im März 2014 sollte die Aktivität des Kometen von der Erde aus messbar sein. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommen MPS-Forscher.
Pressemitteilung

Pressemitteilung

27. Oktober 2011
Lutetia - groß, kompakt und sehr, sehr alt
Der Asteroid Lutetia ist ein Urgestein: Einige Bereiche seiner Oberfläche wurden auf ein Alter von etwa 3,6 Milliarden Jahren datiert und gehören damit zu den ältesten Oberflächen unseres Sonnensystems. Darauf deuten Auswertungen hin, von denen MPS-Wissenschaftler jetzt in der Fachzeitschrift Science berichten.
Pressemitteilung

Pressemitteilung

8. Juni 2011
Erstes Bild des Kometen
Etwa 163 Millionen Kilometer trennen die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta noch vom Kometen Churjumov-Gerasimenko, den sie 2014 erreichen wird. Trotz dieser beachtlichen Entfernung sind Wissenschaftlern des MPS mit Hilfe des Kamerasystems OSIRIS an Bord nun erstmals Aufnahmen des fernen Ziels gelungen.

Weitere interessante Beiträge

Zur Redakteursansicht