# Sunrise III

## Col-List & Co-Authorship Guidelines



This document lists the Sunrise Principal Investigator (PI), the lead-Co-Investigators (Lead-CoI), the Co-Investigators (CoI), and the people who significantly contributed to the success of Sunrise III. It also defines who of them needs to be added to the various publications.

# 1 PI & Lead-Cols

Co-author policy: The persons listed here need to appear as coauthors on:

- Sunrise Instrument Overview Paper,
- Sunrise flight & first science overview paper,
- all Sunrise Instrument Papers,
- all first-round science papers and papers whose data analysis was started during embargo period, irrespective of which Sunrise III instrument was used,
- all papers of co-observers started during embargo period, which use Sunrise data.

They appear in the first block after the main authors in the Overview paper.

For the other papers, they should appear as a block, after the authors that directly made large contributions to that particular paper.

Sami K. Solanki MPS PI Pietro Bernasconi APL gondola Andreas Korpi-Laga MPS project

Achim Gandorfer MPS telescope, PFI, ISLiD

Alex Feller MPS SUSI
Tino Riethmüller MPS ICS
Jose Carlos del Toro Iniesta S3PC TuMag
Yukio Katsukawa NAOJ SCIP
Thomas Berkefeld KIS CWS

(9 co-authors in total)

# 2 Cols

## 2.1 Sunrise-Cols

1-2 people per **instrument/subsystem**, whose contributions go beyond the instrument level. Named and agreed upon by the PI/Lead-Cols

**Co-author policy:** The persons listed here need to appear as coauthors on:

- Sunrise Instrument Overview Paper,
- Sunrise flight & first science overview paper,
- all Sunrise Instrument papers,
- all first-round science papers and papers whose data analysis was started during

embargo period, irrespective of which Sunrise III instrument was used,

- all papers of co-observers started during embargo period, which use Sunrise data.

Smitha Narayanamurthy	MPS	Masahito Kubo	NAOJ
David Orozco	S3PC	Alexander Bell	KIS
Alberto Alvarez	S3PC	Michael Carpenter	APL
Valentin Martinez Pillet	IAC/S3PC	Bianca Grauf	MPS

(8 co-authors in total)

# 2.2 Early-career Sunrise Co-Is

Early-career scientists who contributed significantly to the success of Sunrise during the Kiruna campaign of 2022 and flight of 2024, and in their preparations.

**Co-author policy:** The persons listed here need to appear as coauthors on:

- Sunrise Instrument Overview Paper,
- Sunrise flight & first science overview paper,
- All first-round science papers and papers during the embargo period, irrespective of instrument usage

Yusuke Kawabata	NAOJ	Francisco Iglesias	MPS/Mendoza
Takayoshi Oba	MPS	Johannes Hölken	MPS
Takuma Matsumoto	Nagoya Univ	Edvarda Harnes	MPS
Ryohtaroh T. Ishikawa	NIFS	Dusan Vukadinovic	MPS
		Sebastian Castellanos Durár	n MPS
Julián Blanco Rodríguez	S3PC		
Hanna Strecker	S3PC		
Pablo Santamarina Guerrero S3PC			

(12 co-authors in total)

### 2.3 Instrument Cols

2-4 people per instrument / subsystem, named by the Lead-Col of the corresponding instrument.

**Co-author policy:** The persons listed here need to appear as coauthors on:

- Sunrise Instrument Overview Paper,
- Sunrise flight & first science overview paper,
- on instrument-specific paper (obviously Instrument Lead-Co-Is can choose to put more people on these papers),
- on first-round science papers using data from the corresponding instrument (the Instrument Lead-Co-Is and in particular the first author of each such paper can decide to add more authors from the instrument team, obviously).

### 2.3.1 SCIP Cols

Hirohisa Hara	NAOJ	Yusuke Kawabata (*)	NAOJ
Toshifumi Shimizu	JAXA	Takayoshi Oba (*)	MPS

## 2.3.2 TuMag Cols

Esteban Sanchis Kilders	S3PC	María Balaguer Jiménez	S3PC
Ignacio Torralbo Jimeno	S3PC	Cristoph Kuckein	S3PC
Julián Blanco Rodríguez	S3PC		

#### 2.3.3 CWS Cols

Reiner Volkmer KIS Tobias Preis KIS

### 2.3.4 SUSI Cols

Francisco Iglesias (\*) MPS/Mendoza Johannes Hölken (\*) MPS

### 2.3.5 Gondola Cols

Harry Eaton	APL	Daniel Young	APL
Erich Schulze	APL		

### 2.3.6 Telescope/ICS/ISLiD/PFI/Comm-Sys

Werner Deutsch	MPS	Martin Kolleck	MPS
Dietmar Germerott	MPS	Klaus Heerlein	MPS

<sup>(\*)</sup> These instrument Co-Is are already members of the "Early-career Sunrise Co-Is" list.

# 3 Flight Operation Team + Significant Contributors

The scientists (possibly also engineers) who contributed to the success of Sunrise during the flight (the "observers"), and in the preparation (and are not yet mentioned above). Include also 2022 flight personnel.

#### Co-author policy:

- Sunrise Instrument Overview Paper
- Sunrise flight & first science overview paper

#### SCIP:

Yoshihiro Naito	SOKENDAI	Toshihiro Tsuzuki	NAOJ
Carlos Quintero Noda	IAC	Javier Piqueras Carreño	UPM
Fumihiro Uraguchi	NAOJ		

#### APL:

Harry Eaton Daniel Ayoub Geoffrey Palo

#### MPS:

Johann Hirzberger

#### S3PC:

Luis R. Bellot Rubio
Antonio C. López Jiménez
Daniel Álvarez García
Beatriz Aparicio del Moral
Antonio Moreno Mantas
Antonio Sánchez Gómez

Eduardo Bailón Martínez Francisco J. Bailén Ángel Tobaruela David Hernández Expósito José Luis Gasent Blesa

# 4 Others

The first author of every paper can add additional co-authors according to the guidelines of the journal and the rules of good scientific practice.

These names do not need to be mentioned here, they can just be listed in the author list of your paper.

Sevilla Sunrise Meeting Place: Sevilla, Spain Date: March 27, 2025

Sami K. Solanki (PI, MPS)

Andreas Korpi-Lagg (MPS)

Jukio Katankason

Yukio Katsukawa (NAOJ)

Thomas Berkefeld (KIS)

Achim Gandorfer (MPS)

Jose Carlos del Toro Iniesta (S3PC)

Pietro Bernasconi (APL)

Alex Feller (MPS)

Tino Riethmüller (MPS)